Enjoy all your local news and sports for less than 5¢ per day.

Subscribe Now

Oakley and Cox win PEC board elections; annual meeting June 17

Burnet County Judge James Oakley

Burnet County Judge James Oakley was re-elected as District 5 director for the Pedernales Electric Cooperative board. Courtesy photo

Two incumbents were re-elected to the Pedernales Electric Cooperative Board of Directors, the co-op announced Tuesday, June 14. Burnet County Judge James Oakley, who drew two opponents, returns as the director for District 5, which includes parts of Burnet and Travis counties. Travis Cox, with one challenger, was re-elected to the District 4 seat, which includes Dripping Springs and Oak Hill.

Certified election results will be announced at PEC’s annual meeting on Friday, June 17. It starts at 9 a.m. at PEC headquarters, 201 Avenue F in Johnson City. Oakley and Cox will be sworn in and seated for the regular meeting that follows at 10 a.m. 

Voting was May 18 through June 10. 

New officers will be elected at the 10 a.m. meeting. Currently serving as officers are District 2 Director Emily Pataki as president, District 1 Director Milton Rister as vice president, and District 3 Director Mark Ekrut as secretary-treasurer.

Challengers for the District 5 race were Scott Powell of Horseshoe Bay and Rachelle Sutherland of Spicewood. Kathi Thomas of Dripping Springs ran against Cox in District 4.

1 thought on “Oakley and Cox win PEC board elections; annual meeting June 17

  1. I voted for Judge Oakley and posted we did not need any more outsiders on the PEC Board.

    Congratulations Judge Oakley.

Comments are closed. moderates all comments. Comments with profanity, violent or discriminatory language, defamatory statements, or threats will not be allowed. The opinions and views expressed here are those of the person commenting and do not necessarily reflect the official position of or Victory Media Marketing.