Enjoy all your local news and sports for less than 5¢ per day.

Subscribe Now

MARBLE FALLS — Now that seedings have been determined for the Faith Academy tennis team, the Flames will find out how accurate coaches were in their selections.

That’s because a preliminary District 3-2A Tournament will be conducted Thursday at the Horseshoe Bay tennis center at 9 a.m.

IN PHOTO: Members of the Faith Academy tennis team include Trey Cherry (front row, left), Ashley Stallard, Nicole Johnson, Savannah Still and Sarah Thomas; Brittany Scott (second row, left), Deanna Hoover, Taylor Hicks, Eva Noxon and Keenan Lewis; Tyler Cantlon (back row, left), Coach Chuck Michie, Travis Michie, Ryan Johnson, Nathan Michie, Jordan Bland, John Bennett, Coach Todd Still, Head Coach Michelle Stallard and Wyatt Clendennen. Not pictured are Melanie Fortenberry, Jonelle Frazier and Kristen Lookabaugh. Courtesy photo

Faith Academy Headmaster Mark Earwood said the Flames introduced the concept  of a preliminary tournament three years ago.

“It’s to make sure the correct seedings of the players are good,” he said. “You see every single player participating in the district tournament. You have to be in the seeding tournament to play in the district tournament.”

Junior Tyler Cantlon will face Weston Chapa of Trinity Christian in boys singles, while freshman Keenan Lewis will meet Nathan Behrens of San Antonio Lutheran.

Freshman Sarah Thomas will meet Madison Matous of Temple Holy Trinity, while freshman Hannah Still will face Kayla Brock of San Antonio Lutheran in girls singles.

In girls doubles, freshmen Ashley Stallard and Nicole Johnson will face the winner of Andrea Robledo and Callie Little of Trinity Christian or Judy Weinstein and Ashley Moser of Kerrville Our Lady of the Hills.

The Faith girls doubles team of seniors Deanna Hoover and Taylor Hicks will meet Maggie Thompson and Angela Jenkins of San Antonio Lutheran.

The boys doubles team of brothers Travis and Nathan Michie will face Cody Johnson and Carlos Ferreyro of Trinity Christian.

Senior Ryan Johnson and junior Jordan Bland await the winner of Kasey Day and Daniel Lockerbie of Bulverde Bracken and Andrew White and Marc Bullard of Our Lady of the Hills.

The district tournament will be conducted April 13 at the Blossom Tennis Center in San Antonio.