LCRA board of directors selects 111 volunteers to serve on six new regional councils

AUSTIN –— The Lower Colorado River Authority board of directors has selected 111 members for six new regional councils that will provide a communication link between LCRA and the communities served by the agency. 

These volunteers will serve two- or four-year terms beginning in January.  The councils replace the lake and river advisory panels formed in 1996. Members will provide input and discuss regional issues related to LCRA’s mission, which is to provide energy, water and community services and to help ensure the protection and constructive use of natural resources in the lower Colorado River basin. 

Councils may be organized in the future to represent other areas served by LCRA. 

The council members include:

Buchanan/Inks Regional Council:

 Ronald Abshier, Jane Allison, George Bold, H. Ray Buchanan, Steve Buchanan, Candace Cooke, Bobby Crouch, Lowell DeJong, Eugene “Gene” Ehler, Tom Harrison, Dub Holley, Terry G. Kennedy, Donald McCarty, Burnet County Commissioner Bill Neve, William F. Pennington, Tyler Robertson, James D. Smitherman, David Smothers, William Wenson and Michael Wortham

Colorado/Wharton/Matagorda Regional Council:

 Julius E. Bartek, Owen W. Bludau, Matagorda County Commissioner George Deshotels, Rebecca Cole Dutcher, Donna Huitt, Nancy Hunter, Sam Kana, Delmar Krenek, Raul Martinez, David Riedel Melanson, Wharton City Councilman Domingo Montalvo Jr., Robert W. Noster, state Rep. Mike O’Day, Bob Pickens, Haskell L. Simon, Chandra Spenrath, Robert Weiss and William R. “Willie” Younger

Pedernales Regional Council:

 Marianne Bonenberger, Gary Guenthner, Edgar Hullum, Bandera City Councilman Robert L. Koimn, Robert Madey, Robert W. Moss, Blanco County Commissioner James Sultemeier, Ray E. Walls, Alfred A. Weinzierl, Mindy Wendele, Paula K. White, Charles G. Wilson and James W. Wright

LBJ/Marble Falls Regional Council:

 Dan Bauerle, Cottonwood Shores Mayor Sylvia Breen, Bill Brooks, Mark Chapman, Burnet County Commissioner Joe Don Dockery, Ray Gill, Mary Ann Hefner, Charles Henicke, Dewey Hollingsworth, Paul Horton, Neal A. Kennedy, Mike Kersey, Frank Ligon, Jayne Mortensen, Thomas Michael Murray, William Plumley, Cindy Schroeder, Scott Stevens, Robert Watson and William Whiting

San Saba/Llano Regional Council:

 Lampasas County Judge Wayne L. Boultinghouse, William Terry Bray, Walter T. Curry, Michael Deitch, Dale Henry, Roy B. Inks II, J.D. Kidwell, Teresa A. King, David Leonard, Robert E. Lindsey, Martha Long, Kathleen Harris Moore, Tracey O’Shay, John Parks, Gilley Riojas, Caroline Runge, James Stewart, Earl Theiss, Sam Warren and Robert Yantis

Travis/Austin Regional Council: 

Tony Adsley, Larry Barnett, Roger M. Durden, Rhonda D. Dyer, David Gavenda, Earl Gilbert, Victor Gonzales, Katherine Holtz, Vanessa Kelly, Warren Ketteman, Clifton Ladd, former LCRA Board member F. Scott LaGrone, Marceline Lasater, Laraine Lasdon, Robert T. Mooney, Hondo Powell, Mildred S. Schaefer, David R. Taylor, Stephen Thomas and Bob Walker