Enjoy all your local news and sports for less than 6¢ per day.

Subscribe Now

The filing period for three spots on the Education Service Center Region 13 Board of Directors ends Feb. 20. 

ESC Region 13 is one of 20 education service centers statewide and covers Central Texas. It is a non-regulatory agency that collaborates with more 100 school districts, private schools, institutions of higher education, and charter schools in the region. 

Candidates for the expired seats for places 4 and 7 may reside in the following 16 counties: Bastrop, Bexar (Comal Independent School District only), Blanco, Burnet, Caldwell, Comal, Fayette, Gillespie, Gonzales, Guadalupe, Hays, Kendall (except residents in Boerne ISD), Lee, Llano, Milam (residents must reside in Thorndale ISD), and Williamson. 

Only Travis County residents are eligible for Place 1. 

All applicants must be at least 18 years old, a U.S. citizen, and may not be engaged professionally in education or a member of a board of any educational agency or institution.

Members of the ESC Region 13 board are elected by school district trustees in each region at the first regular or special board meeting held between March 1 and April 5. 

Canvassing of election results ends no later than May 31.

Terms for each ESC board member are three years and begin on June 1.

Call ESC Region 13 Executive Director Rich Elasser at 512-919-5301 to receive an application.