Enjoy all your local news and sports for less than 5¢ per day.

Subscribe Now


Voters in Burnet and Llano counties will have few decisions to make for municipal and school district races on the May 4 general election ballot.

There are no contested races for any of the counties’ three public school districts. Of the eight total spots up for election in the three districts, all are unopposed with only incumbents filing.

The cities of Marble Falls, Burnet, Granite Shoals, and Cottonwood Shores also will not have contested races. Incumbents will run unopposed in 13 opens spots out of 15 total seats in those four cities. The two spots that will not be filled by incumbents are open because one has been empty due to the council member stepping down, and the other current member has hit that city’s term limit.

Candidates who have filed for contested city races:


Three at-large positions are open in Bertram. Three incumbents have filed for re-election: Mike Dickinson, Pat Turner, and Jean Worrell. Three challengers have filed: Stephanie Fitzsimmons, Tammy Scott, and John Valadez.


Incumbent Gail Long is the only candidate to file for mayor and will run unopposed.

Four have filed for the two open, two-year terms for City Council: Kara Gilliland, Roper Mikulenka, Larry Sawyer, and Tory Virdell.

The filing period for the one open, one-year term closes March 4.


Three council member positions are up for election in Meadowlakes. Barbara Peskin is running unopposed for Place 2. Place 4 has two candidates: Steve Newton and Eddie Wise. Place 5 has two candidates: incumbent Bob Brown and Gerry Mason.

City election filings:


Mayor: Crista Goble Bromley (incumbent)

Council member positions: Tres Clinton, Paul Farmer, Cindia Talamantez (incumbents)


Mayor: Donald Orr (incumbent)

Council member positions: Michael Hibdon, Brigitte Thomas (incumbents)


Mayor: Carl Brugger (incumbent)

Council Place 1: Ron Munos (incumbent Anita Hisey was not eligible to run for re-election due to term limits)

Council Place 3: Jim Davant (incumbent)

Council Place 5: Todd Holland (incumbent)


Mayor: John Packer (incumbent)

Place 2: Dave Rhodes (incumbent)

Place 4: Celia Merrill (incumbent)

Place 6: Reed Norman (to fill a vacant seat)

School board election filings:


Place 1: Earl Foster (incumbent)

Place 5: Andy Feild (incumbent)


Place 2: Lance Dillard (incumbent)

Place 5: Dean Campbell (incumbent)

Place 6: Todd Keller (incumbent)

Place 7: Jeff Kuykendall (incumbent)


Place 1: Gary Boshears (incumbent)

Place 2: Rick Edwards (incumbent)

2 thoughts on “City and school elections in May are mostly uncontested

  1. Why aren’t these people identified as to party affiliations? This is unacceptable in our current state of affairs. Democrats are socialists. We do not want socialism in Texas !

  2. Which Party do the candidates identify with? Party politics are of concern considering that Democrats are becoming socialist & our education system is in dire need of upgrade & removal of Common Core while increasing American History & Civics. Mayors are the CEO’s of their cities & too many in TX have gone liberal-sanctuary by allowing local $$ to be spent on illegals when it should be directed on American Citizens. Some have gone so far as to remove & rename schools without consent of voters. Austin/Houston perfect examples. NEA introduces their Reading Program by having Drag Queens read to toddlers in Houston & approved by Mayor. This should concern everyone. So in all races which party do these candidates identify with? For now I can never vote democrat for what they have become as they lean anti American, anti Israel & embrace foreigners over citizens.

Comments are closed. moderates all comments. Comments with profanity, violent or discriminatory language, defamatory statements, or threats will not be allowed. The opinions and views expressed here are those of the person commenting and do not necessarily reflect the official position of or Victory Media Marketing.