Support Community Press

You can show your support of a vibrant and healthy free press by becoming a voluntary subscriber.

Subscribe Now

PEC voters can choose board members and election system, win prizes at annual meeting


JOHNSON CITY — The 20,000-plus Pedernales Electric Cooperative are faced with a decision in the current election.

Voting started May 22 and runs through the June 21 at PEC’s annual meeting in Cedar Park.

Voters not only have choices for the District 2 and District 3 candidates, but they also have a decision in how they are represented by the board.

“Right now, we have an at-large system,” PEC spokesperson Kay Jarvis said. “Members are being asked to chose between it and a single-member district system.”

Under the current at-large system, PEC members can vote for any director candidate in an election regardless if that position is in a member’s geographic area. Under the single-member district system, members would elect their district’s director.

The PEC has a comparison chart between the two systems on its website at

PEC members also have two board of directors positions on the ballot. For District 2, the candidates are Emily Pataki of Cedar Park and William D. “Bill” Boggs of Leander. Boggs is currently the vice president of the PEC board of directors.

In the District 3 race, voters have a choice among four candidates: Judy Lawler Pokorny of Cedar Park, Kathryn Scanion of Austin, Arnold LeVine of Austin and Don Zimmerman of Austin. Scanlon is the current District 3 board member.

Information and bios of each candidate can be found on the PEC website.

Jarvis said there are several ways to vote, including in person at the annual meeting, via mail or online. Ballots should be going out to members May 22-27.

Online and mail-in voting runs through June 13.

But if people don’t get their voting done at that time, they can also cast their ballots at PEC’s annual meeting June 21 at Leander Independent School District South Performing Arts Center at Cedar Park High School, 2150 Cypress Creek Road in Cedar Park.

The voting is 8-10:30 a.m. at the performing arts center.

“We’ll announce the results during the annual meeting later that day,” Jarvis said.

But the annual meeting is more than just a time to vote, she added.

“There are a lot of things going on there that we think will be of interest to the members,” Jarvis said.

Registration for the annual meeting is 8-10:30 a.m. with the meeting starting at 10:30 a.m.

Between 8:30 a.m. and 10 a.m., members can check out the numerous booths and activities. Many of the booths feature ways members can improve their electricity efficiency, learn about solar power options (including financing energy-efficient and renewable energy projects), explore ideas on new technology and learn about the Hill Country Science Mill.

Plus, members who attend the annual meeting can register for several door prizes, including a retired PEC pick-up truck, an iPad and Apple TV combo, an energy-efficient smart TV and a laptop computer and Nest thermostat combo.