Early voting for Burnet County judge runoff set for May 19-23


BURNET — Early voting gets under way May 19 in the runoff election for Burnet County judge with Marble Falls Mayor George Russell and former county commissioner James Oakley vying for the Republican party nomination.

The polls are open during office hours through May 23. The election is May 27.

Earlier this year, Burnet County Judge Donna Klaeger announced she would not seek re-election.

Oakley served as Burnet County Precinct 4 commissioner for eight years starting in 1998.

In 2000, then-Gov. George Bush appointed Oakley to the Regional Review Committee for Community Development Grants, a position he still holds.

In 2003, Gov. Rick Perry appointed Oakley to the rock crushers and quarries advisory committee during the 79th Legislative session. Later, in 2009, Perry appointed Oakley to the Texas Commission on Law Enforcement as one of three public members with his term expiring in 2017.

Oakley also has been active in the Capital Area Council of Governments, the Capital Area Regional Transportation Planning Organization and the Texas Colorado River Floodplain Coalition.

Oakley currently holds a district director position on the Pedernales Electric Cooperative board.

Since leaving office, Oakley has worked for GovDeals.com, a national, Web-based auctioning business that focuses on government surplus and seizure assets.

He and his wife, Julie, have five children and live in the Spicewood community.

Russell is in his third term as Marble Falls mayor and previously served as city manager. As lifelong Republicans, Russell and his wife of 46 years, Cynthia, both strongly believe in giving back to the community.

Russell has served on numerous advisory boards, including for the Marble Falls/Lake LBJ Chamber of Commerce, Texas Tech University and the Texas Commission on Environmental Quality. He also has been actively involved with developing Burnet County’s comprehensive water-management and transportation plans.

Among the many honors he has received for community service are the 2012 Marble Falls/Lake LBJ Chamber of Commerce Outstanding Citizen, the Masonic Blazing Star Lodge #413 Community Builder award and a Rotary-Paul Harris Fellow.

Cynthia Russell has served as the president of the Highland Lakes Service League and the president of the Friends of the Marble Falls Library.

Early voting locations for Burnet County are the Burnet County Courthouse, 220 S. Pierce in Burnet, and the Burnet County Courthouse South Annex, 810 Steve Hawkins Parkway in Marble Falls.

Early voting hours at both locations are 8 a.m.-5 p.m. May 19-23.