April is the month to hit the Hill Country wine trails

101HL wine tastingSip wine among the wildflowers on the Texas Hill Country Wine and Wildflower Trail on April 5-14. The self-guided trail features 32 wineries. The kick-off tasting at Dry Comal Creek Vineyards begins at 6 p.m. Friday, April 5. The vineyard is located at  1741 Herbelin Road in New Braunfels.

New this year to the wine trail, on the first Friday evening of each weekend, local wineries will get together for a group tasting before you take off for your two-day tour of the individual sites.

Your ticket includes one to three complimentary tastes of wine at each winery, a 15 percent discount on three bottle purchases at each winery and one wildflower seed packet. Some wineries will have live music and food trailers. Tickets are $40 for couples and $25 for a single ticket.

Check out the calendar on the Texas Hill Country Wineries website for details of events. The biggest days are Saturday, April 6, with 13 events and Saturday, April 13, with 19 events.

For a list of wineries, click here.

Central Texas is Wine Country

You can sample Hill Country wine throughout the year. Thanks to the area’s unique climate and geography, you can explore the bouquet and flavors of several wineries from Fredericksburg to Johnson City to Bend.

Indeed, the region’s climate and soils have produced some award-winning wines. Just a few years ago, Orbitz.com travel experts ranked the Hill Country wine region as second in the nation behind Napa Valley.

Many of the local wineries have wine clubs you can join. The wineries will keep you informed about special events they offer.

Here’s a list of some of the wineries in the Highland Lakes and beyond:

• Alamosa Wine Cellars, 677 CR 430 in Bend in San Saba County, north of Llano, (325) 628-3313, www.alamosawinecellars.com

• Becker Vineyards, 464 Becker Farm Road in Stonewall, (830) 644-2681, www.beckervineyards.com

• Bell Mountain Vineyards, 463 Bell Mountain Road, 14 miles from Fredericksburg on Texas 16 North, (830) 685-3297, www.bellmountainwine.com

• Chisholm Trail Winery, 2367 Usener Road in Fredericksburg, (830) 990-2675 or toll-free at (877) 990-2675, www.chisholmtrailwinery.com

• Duchman Family Winery, 13308 FM 150 West in Driftwood, (512) 858-1470, http://duchmanwinery.com

• Driftwood Estate Winery, 4001 Elder Hill Road (CR 170) in Driftwood, (512) 858-9667, www.driftwoodvineyards.com

• Dry Comal Creek Vineyards, 1741 Herbelin Road in New Braunfels, (830) 885-4076, www.drycomalcreek.com

• Fall Creek Vineyards, 1820 CR 222 in Tow, (325) 379-5361, www.fcv.com

• Flat Creek Estate Vineyard and Winery, 24912 Singleton Bend East off RR 1431 east of Marble Falls, (512) 267-6310, www.flatcreekestate.com

• Fredericksburg Winery, 247 W. Main St. in Fredericksburg, (830) 990-8747, www.fbgwinery.com

• Grape Creek Vineyards, 10587 U.S. 290 East in Fredericksburg, (830) 644-2710, www.grapecreek.com

• McReynolds Winery, 706 Shovel Mountain Road in Cypress Mill southwest of Spicewood, (830) 825-3544, www.mcreynoldswines.com

• Pedernales Cellars, 2916 Upper Albert Road in Stonewall, (830) 644-2037, www.pedernalescellars.com

• Perissos Vineyards and Winery, 7214 Park Road 4 West in Burnet County, (512) 820-2950, www.perissosvineyards.com

• Pillar Bluff Vineyards, 300 CR 111 in Lampasas, (512) 556-4078, www.pillarbluff.com

• Rancho Ponte Vineyard, 315 RR 1376 in Fredericksburg, (830) 990-8555, www.ranchoponte.com

• Santa Maria Cellars, 12044 Texas 16 South in Fredericksburg, (830) 998-5357, www.santamariacellarswines.com

• Sister Creek Vineyards, 1142 Sisterdale Road in Sisterdale, (830) 324-6704, www.sistercreekvineyards.com

• Spicewood Vineyards, 1419 CR 409 in Spicewood, (830) 693-5328, www.spicewoodvineyards.com

• Stone House Vineyard, 24350 Haynie Flat Road in Spicewood, (512) 264-3630, www.stonehousevineyard.com

• Texas Hills Vineyard, 878 RR 2766 in Johnson City, (830) 868-2321, www.texashillsvineyard.com

• Texas Legato Winery, 2935 RR 1478 in Lampasas, (512) 556-9600, www.texaslegato.com

• Torre di Pietra Vineyards, 10915 U.S. 290 East in Fredericksburg, (830) 644-2829, www.texashillcountrywine.com

• Westcave Cellars Winery, 25711 Hamilton Pool Road in Round Mountain, (512) 431-1403, www.westcavecellars.com

• William Chris Vineyards, 10352 U.S. 290 in Hye, (830) 998-7654, www.williamchriswines.com

• Woodrose Winery, 662 Woodrose Lane in Stonewall, (830) 644-2539, www.woodrosewinery.com

Comments are closed.

Sign Up For Our Newsletter