Enjoy all your local news and sports for less than 6¢ per day.

Subscribe Now

RUNOFF ROUNDUP: Flores, Troxclair win Republican nominations

Pete Flores and Ellen Troxclair

Republicans Pete Flores and Ellen Troxclair each won their primary runoff elections May 24. Flores will be on the Nov. 8 midterm ballot in the Texas Senate District 24 race against Democrat Kathy Jones-Hospod, while Troxclair will face Democrat Pam Baggett and independent Kodi Sawin in the Texas House District 19 contest. Courtesy photos

Local, district, and state Republican and Democratic nominations were decided Tuesday, May 24, in each party’s primary runoff election. Winners will be on the Nov. 8 midterm ballot.

In Llano County, Lisa Simpson defeated William Koch 627-388 for the GOP nomination for Precinct 4 justice of the peace. 

In the Texas Senate District 24 Republican runoff, Pete Flores defeated Raul Reyes. The district includes Burnet and Llano counties. 

Flores won across the district with 59 percent of the vote. In Burnet County, Republicans cast 2,456 votes for Flores to 2,207 for Reyes. Llano County GOP voters chose Flores over Reyes 1,685 to 1,268. 

In the Texas House District 19 GOP runoff, Ellen Troxclair defeated Justin Berry with 56 percent of votes across the district. Republicans in Burnet County, which is part of District 19, voted for Troxclair over Berry 2,749 to 2,023.



  • Attorney general — Ken Paxton defeated George P. Bush
  • Commissioner of the General Land Office — Dawn Buckingham defeated Tim Westley
  • Railroad commissioner — Wayne Christian defeated Sarah Stogner


  • Lieutenant governor — Mike Collier defeated Michelle Beckley 
  • Attorney general — Rochelle Mercedes Garza defeated Joe Jaworski
  • Comptroller of Public Accounts — Janet T. Dudding defeated Angel Luis Vega
  • Commissioner of General Land Office — Jay Kleberg defeated Sandragrace Martinez

For more information on Texas elections, visit