Enjoy all your local news and sports for less than 6¢ per day.

Subscribe Now


LLANO — A five-way race for the Republican nomination for the Llano County sheriff is down to two.

Sheriff Bill Blackburn will face challenger James Schilling in a May runoff after the two earned the most votes in the Republican primary March 1. Blackburn brought in 2,542 votes, or 46 percent, with Schilling netting 1,195 votes, or 21.7 percent.

To win the nomination outright, a candidate must receive more than 50 percent of the votes.

Aimee Overstreet Shannon followed in third with Jared Latta in fourth and Jack Derington rounding out the field.

The winner of the Republican nomination for sheriff will face an independent candidate in the November general election.

The race for the the Precinct 3 commissioner is also headed to a runoff. Incumbent commissioner Ron Wilson will face Mike Sandoval in the May 24 runoff. They earned the most votes with Sue Glover coming in third.

In the tax assessor-collector race, Kris Fogelberg (2,513) edged out Kody Wagner (2,485) for the Republican nomination. Fogelberg advances to the November general election without a Democratic opponent.

Uncontested races include:

  • 33rd judicial district judge— Allan Garrett
  • 33rd/424th district attorney — Wiley “Sonny” McAfee
  • Llano County Attorney – Rebecca Lange
  • Precinct 1 commissioner – Peter Jones
  • Precinct 1 constable — Gary Olfers
  • Precinct 2 constable — Richard Harris
  • Precinct 3 constable — William “Bill” Edwards
  • Precinct 4 constable — Joe B. Simpson Jr.

Go to for more on the elections and the election process.

For statewide results, view the roundup at