Enjoy all your local news and sports for less than 5¢ per day.

Subscribe Now


JOHNSON CITY — Pedernales Electric Cooperative members wanting a say in the election for board members in Districts 1, 6 and 7 have until June 12 to participate in the online and mail-in voting.

But if members miss that deadline, they’ll have one more opportunity to vote in the co-op’s election.

PEC candidates vying for three of the seven positions on the board of directors are voted on at-large by cooperative members or households within the utility service area.

The 24 counties include Bell, Bexar, Blanco, Burnet, Caldwell, Comal, Gillespie, Hays, Lampasas, Llano, Mason, San Saba, Travis and Williamson.

In District 1, Mark Axford of Burnet has challenged incumbent Cristi Clement of Meadowlakes.

In District 6, incumbent Larry Landaker will go up against Paul Graf of Spring Branch and Max Hosford of Fischer.

In District 7, a three-way race involves Amy Lea Akers of Hays County, Jeff Barton of Hays County and Douglas Kadjar of Kyle.

Directors serve three-year terms.

The election also allows for in-person voting at the PEC annual meeting June 20 at the Leander Independent School District South Performing Arts Center, 2150 Cypress Creek Road, at Cedar Park High School.

For mail-in ballots or online ballot assistance, call (866) 909-3549 during regular office hours.

Go to for more information about online and mail-in ballot requirements.