Enjoy all your local news and sports for less than 5¢ per day.

Subscribe Now

After filings, several contested races for school, city elections in Burnet, Llano counties


BURNET — As the filing deadline has passed, a number of school and city elections are now scheduled in Burnet and Llano counties, officials say.

“There’s about four or five cities, a couple of school districts and some (Emergency Service Districts), and that’s basically it,” said Burnet County Elections Administrator Doug Ferguson.

In Burnet, candidates who filed to run for three at-large city council positions are incumbents Derik Fortin and Mary Jane Shanes, along with challengers Danny Lester, Don Craig Lindholm, Paul Farmer and Claude (Tres ) Ramsey Clinton III.

Also, incumbent mayor Gary Wideman has filed to run again and has a challenger, Milton Phair.

The city will also have an election for 18 charter amendment propositions.

For Burnet Consolidated Independent School District, the only contested race is for place 2. Candidates who have filed for the BCISD place 2 seat are John Erskine, Angela Moore and Troy Hocker. Place 4 incumbent Jeff Hullum and place 6 incumbent Robby Robertson have no challengers.

In Bertram, five people are running for three at-large positions.

Cindy Callihan, Mike Conarik, Ricky Paz, incumbent Pat Turner and James Worrell are running for two-year terms. City councilman Ray Verrett did not file.

Incumbent Kim Klose has filed to run for the final year of an unexpired term without a challenger.

In Granite Shoals, there are two people who have filed for place 5: Todd Holland and Bill Cummings. Carl Brugger, who is the place 5 incumbent, has filed to run for mayor against Dennis McCoy. Mayor Dennis Maier did not file to run.

In place 3, Eric Tanner and Michael Steenbergen have filed to run for that position.

Incumbent Anita Hisey, the place 1 incumbent, has filed to run again with no challengers.

For the city of Marble Falls, place 4 incumbent Butch Kemper did not file to run again.

Candidates for his place are Rachel Austin-Cook, Jennifer McKague and Sharon Pittard.

For place 2, incumbent Jane Marie Hurst filed to run with no challengers.

In the place 6 spot, incumbent Ryan Nash also filed to run in an uncontested race.

John Packer has filed to run for mayor. Mayor George Russell has decided not to run again.

In the city of Llano, Mayor Mike Virdell did not file to run again. Two people vying for the mayor’s position are Mike Reagor and Sherry Simpson.

Candidates running for two at-large positions are Glenn Conner, Cheryl Crabtree and Paul Hull.

City councilman Brian Miiller and Todd Keller are incumbents who did not file to run.

For Llano ISD, place 1 incumbent Steve Haverlah decided not to run again, and two candidates, Rob Wilson and Charlie White, have filed to run for the position.

Incumbent Ron Cunningham has filed but is uncontested for the Llano ISD place 5 spot.

Highland Haven has called for an election for a homestead limitation on the ad valorem property taxes.

In Burnet County, two items on the ballot for certain sections of the county are Emergency Services Districts (ESD), which raise money from property taxes to help pay for fire and EMS services. If accepted by voters, ESD No. 4 would help fund fire services in the Bertram area. ESD No. 6 would collect property taxes in an area east of Marble Falls.

“For the voters, April 9 is the last day for them to register (to vote) for the elections,” Ferguson said.

Entities that have canceled elections due to no contested filings were the city of Cottonwood Shores, Marble Falls ISD and the city of Meadowlakes.

Early voting is April 27-May 5. The election is May 9.