Enjoy all your local news and sports for less than 6¢ per day.

Subscribe Now


BURNET — Burnet Consolidated Independent School District voters approved a $26.7 million bond Nov. 4 and Burnet County stayed dominantly Republican as local and state races all went to GOP candidates.

The bond passed 3,173 to 2,883. The money will be used to build new facilities, including a multi-purpose career and technology education shop at Burnet High School, upgrade many of the current facilities, make security improvements, purchase 10 new 77-passenger buses and make other improvements.

The above tally includes voters in the BCISD portions of Burnet and Llano counties.

Across Burnet County, voters kept offices in the hands of Republican candidates. In fact, the local races featured only Republicans. However, it doesn’t mean there won’t be new faces.

Republican James Oakley will become the new Burnet County (administrative) judge Jan. 1, 2015. He drew no Democratic challenger in the Nov. 4 election.

He will replace Donna Klaeger, who chose not to seek re-election.

Another new face is Linda Bayless, who was elected Burnet County Court at Law judge. She will replace Randy Savage, who also chose not to run again for the office.

Other local winners include:

  • Casie Walker for district clerk
  • Janet Parker for county clerk
  • Karrie Crownover for county treasurer
  • Russell Graeter for Burnet County Precinct 2 commissioner
  • Joe Don Dockery for Burnet County Precinct 4 commissioner
  • Calvin Boyd for Burnet County Precinct 1 justice of the peace
  • Lisa Whitehead for Burnet County Precinct 2 justice of the peace
  • Peggy Shell Simon for Burnet County Precinct 3 justice of the peace
  • Edward F. Cutchin for Burnet County Precinct 4 justice of the peace

In the 424th District judge’s spot, Evan Clay Stubbs ran unopposed and will be sworn in Jan. 1, 2015.

As the local races went Republican, Burnet County voters clearly also favored the GOP in the statewide and U.S. Senate and House of Representative elections.

Those breakdowns included:

  • • U.S. Senate — Republican John Cornyn 9,242; Democrat David M. Alaameel 1,975
  • • U.S. District 25 Representative — Republican Roger Williams 9,160; Democrat Marco Montoya 2,140
  • • Governor — Republican Greg Abbot 8,975; Democrat Wendy Davis 2,566
  • • Lieutenant Governor — Republican Dan Patrick 8,988; Democrat Leticia Van de Putte 2,355
  • • Attorney General — Republican Ken Paxton 8,913; Democrat Sam Houston 2,345
  • • Comptroller of Public Accounts — Republican Glenn Hegar 8,746; Democrat Mike Collier 2,418
  • • Commissioner of General Land Office — Republican George P. Bush 9,046; Democrat John Cook 2,171
  • • Commissioner of Agriculture — Republican Sid Miller 8,806; Democrat Jim Hogan 2,309
  • • Railroad Commissioner — Republican Ryan Sitton 8,721; Democrat Steve Brown 2,249

In the District 20 state representative’s race, Republican Marsha Farney looked poised to be re-elected with Burnet County casting 8,865 votes her way compared to the 2,210 going to Democratic challenger Stephen M. Wyman.

In Horseshoe Bay, voters elected three people to the council. Those are Jerry Gray (783), David Pope (655) and Craig Haydon (649). The fourth candidate, Donald Beeman, garnered 601 votes. The results reflect vote tallies in both Llano and Burnet counties.