ANNOUNCEMENT: Starting on December 1st, the subscription rates will change. The new renewal rate will be $20 for the yearly membership and $4 for the monthly membership. If you currently have a membership, you will be charged the new rate upon renewal.


BURNET — Voters across Burnet County chose new faces and picked a few familiar ones for local councils and school boards.

One of the most recognizable faces on the Granite Shoals city council is on the way back. Last year, Shirley King had to step down from the council due to term limits. But now, 12 months later, she’s back after beating Place 2 incumbent Slayton Marks, 180-130.

In the Place 6 race, Mark Morren held off Peggy Metzger, 168-145, while incumbent Tom Dillard ran unopposed for Place 4.

Highland Haven voters might not be quite done.

They selected Irene Dauphin for mayor over Lynn H. Sheffield. Charles Webb was unopposed for the unexpired alderman spot.

But with three people running for the two full-term alderman seats, Highland Haven found itself with a tie. Betty Ward won one spot outright with 120 votes, but Bill Passmore and Olan Kelley tied at 103 each.

According to Burnet County Elections Administrator Barbara Agnew, several scenarios could follow. First, there is an automatic recount. If the tie remains, she said, the candidates can draw for lots for the position (such as flip a coin) or one candidate could agree to withdraw. If the candidates don’t like those choices, it goes to another election sometime, probably, in late June.

Across the rest of the county, the election results are as follows.

Burnet CISD
Place 3 – Craig Barefoot beat Martin Riley, 503-385
Place 7 – Jim Luther Jr. beat Rick Prewitt, 552-343

ESD No. 4 Local Sales Tax Adoption
Failed with 61 against and 53 for

Bertram City Council (unexpired term)
Mike Konarik beat James B. Worrell, 30-9

Burnet City Council (top 3 win*)
Joyce Laudenschlager, 229*; Philip Thurman, 220*; Paul Shell, 177*; and Zach Worrell, 105.

Meadowlakes City Council (top 1 wins*)
Mayor – Mary Ann Raesener, 314 (unopposed)
Place 1 Council Member – Mike Barry, 303 (unopposed)
Place 3 Council Member – Jerry Drummond, 210*; Moe Garza, 118

Cottonwood Shores City Council (top 1 wins*)
Place 1 Council Member – Anthony J. Satsky, 55 (unopposed)
Place 3 Council Member – Cheryl Trinidad, 63*; Janelle H. Long, 23
Place 5 Council Member – Roger L. Wayson, 67 (unopposed)