Celebrate Hill Country wines and wineries

Wine tastingThe unique climate and soils of the Highland Lakes have produced some award-winning wines that lead Orbitz.com travel experts to rank the region as second in the nation behind Napa Valley.

One great way to get a taste is to sign up for some of the many wine clubs. Local wineries will keep you informed about special events they offer.
Here’s a list of many wineries in the Highland Lakes and beyond:
Alamosa Wine Cellars, 677 CR 430 in Bend, San Saba County, north of Llano, (325) 628-3313, www.alamosawinecellars.com
• Becker Vineyards, 464 Becker Farms Road in Stonewall, (830) 644-2681, www.beckervineyards.com
Bell Mountain Vineyards, 463 Bell Mountain Road, 14 miles from Fredericksburg on Texas 16 North, (830) 685-3297, www.bellmountainwine.com
• Chisholm Trail Winery, 2367 Usener Road in Fredericksburg, (830) 990-CORK (2675), www.chisholmtrailwinery.com
• Duchman Family Winery, 13308 FM 150 West in Driftwood, (512) 858-1470, www.duchmanwines.com
• Driftwood Estate Winery, 4001 Elder Hill Road (CR 170) in Driftwood, (512) 858-9667, www.driftwoodvineyards.com
• Dry Comal Creek Vineyards, 1741 Herbelin Road in New Braunfels, (830) 885-4076, www.drycomalcreek.com
• Fall Creek Vineyards, 1820 CR 222 in Tow, (325) 379-5361, www.fcv.com
• Flat Creek Estate Vineyard and Winery, 24912 Singleton Bend East off RR 1431 east of Marble Falls, (512) 267-6310, www.flatcreekestate.com
• Fredericksburg Winery, 247 W. Main St. in Fredericksburg, (830) 990-8747, www.fbgwinery.com
• Grape Creek Vineyards, 10587 U.S. 290 East in Fredericksburg, (830) 644-2710, www.grapecreek.com
• McReynolds Winery, 706 Shovel Mountain Road (CR 304) in Cypress Mill southwest of Spicewood, (830) 825-3544, www.mcreynoldswines.com
• Pedernales Cellars, 2916 Upper Albert Road in Stonewall, (830) 644-2037, www.pedernalescellars.com
• Perissos Vineyards and Winery, 7214 Park Road 4 West in Burnet County, (512) 820-2950, www.perissosvineyards.com
• Pillar Bluff Vineyards, 300 CR 111 in Lampasas, (512) 556-4078, www.pillarbluff.com
• Rancho Ponte Vineyard, 315 RR 1376 in Fredericksburg, (830) 990-8555, www.ranchoponte.com
• Sister Creek Vineyards, 1142 Sisterdale Road in Sisterdale, (830) 324-6704, www.sistercreekvineyards.com
• Spicewood Vineyards, 1419 CR 409 in Spicewood, (830) 693-5328, www.spicewoodvineyards.com
• Stone House Vineyard, 24350 Haynie Flat Road in Spicewood, (512) 264-3630, www.stonehousevineyard.com
• Texas Hills Vineyard, 878 RR 2766 in Johnson City, (830) 868-2321, www.texashillsvineyard.com
• Texas Legato Winery, 2935 FM 1478 in Lampasas, (512) 556-9600, www.texaslegato.com
• Torre di Pietra Vineyards, 10915 U.S. 290 East in Fredericksburg, (830) 644-2829, www.texashillcountrywine.com
• Woodrose Winery & Vineyards, 662 Woodrose Lane in Stonewall, (830) 644-2539, www.woodrosewinery.com

Another great resource for Hill Country wines and wineries is the Texas Wine Trail website.

The site lists area wineries and an interactive map. You also can find information regarding special events such as the Texas Hill Country Holiday Wine Tour during the first three weekends in December.

PHOTO: Stock