ANNOUNCEMENT: Starting on December 1st, the subscription rates will change. The new renewal rate will be $20 for the yearly membership and $4 for the monthly membership. If you currently have a membership, you will be charged the new rate upon renewal.

Horseshoe Bay City Council races are set for the Nov. 7 election. Early voting is Oct. 23-Nov. 3. The filing deadline was Aug. 21. On the ballot are candidates for mayor and two council seats.

In the mayoral race, current Mayor Pro Tempore Elsie Thurman is taking on challenger Donald Beeman. Mayor Cynthia Clinesmith is unable to run in this election after serving the maximum term allowed in the city charter.

“It’s a good time for me to walk away,” Clinesmith told

She could run again in two years, but has no plans to do so.

“It’s time,” she laughed. “They’re probably all tired of looking at me.”

Clinesmith is pleased with the current state of the city.

“The city is in great shape,” she said. “I feel wonderful about leaving it.”

Incumbent councilors Frank Hosea and Jeff Jones are both seeking another term. They face challenger Larry Morgan in November with the top two vote-getters seated.

Horseshoe Bay residents in Llano County will vote at Horseshoe Bay City Council Chambers, 1 Community Drive; residents in Burnet County will submit ballots at Texas Tech University at Highland Lakes, 806 Steve Parkway in Marble Falls.