Llano 4-H judging team brings home the bacon from Texas 4-H Roundup

The Llano County 4-H meats judging team won the grand prize at the 2013 Texas 4-H Roundup at Texas A&M University in College Station. The team will compete at the national level in October during the American Royal in Kansas City, Mo. Team members are James Smarr (front, left), Shelby Martin, Eli Tiffin and Cole Perkins. Joe Dan Tarter (back) coaches the team. Courtesy photo


COLLEGE STATION — The Llano County 4-H meats judging team landed the grand prize during the 2013 Texas 4-H Roundup at Texas A&M University on June 10-14.

The team, consisting of James Smarr, Cole Perkins, Eli Tiffin and Shelby Martin, earned a trip to the American Royal in Kansas City, Mo., in October to compete at the national level. Joe Dan Tarter coached the squad on its way to the grand prize.

Overall, the Llano County teams brought home the 2013 Livestock Sweepstakes Award.

The meats judging team was one of several that represented Llano County 4-H at the state roundup. The event draws youth from across the state who placed in a qualifying district-level roundup or who signed up for an invitational event.

The Texas 4-H Roundup includes about 50 different contests and workshops that test 4-H members on life skills such as decision making, public speaking, organization and working with others. The contest includes competitions in fashion, food, judging and educational presentations.

Three Llano County judging teams, one quiz bowl team and a scholarship recipient attended the state roundup.

Jacey Smathers earned a Texas Extension Education Assocation scholarship.

The Llano County 4-H Beef Quiz Bowl team of Perkins, Smarr and Smathers earned second in the competition. The squad has the opportunity to compete at the national level next spring during the Houston Livestock Show and Rodeo. Tommy Perkins coached the squad.

While the meats judging team earned a grand prize as a whole, on the individual level, team members also did well. All four finished in the top 10 in individual competition with Smarr at No. 1, Cole Perkins at No. 2, Tiffin at No. 4 and Martin at No. 10.

Another meats judging team representing Llano County consisted of Julianna Ball, Kathryn Cunningham, David Meier and David Forrister.

The Llano County 4-H livestock judging team coached by Jamie Osbourn included Logan Bauer, Aaron Moss and Kyle Tarter.