Enjoy all your local news and sports for less than 6¢ per day.

Subscribe Now

Election Day is Tuesday, Nov. 7, and polls are open from 7 a.m. to 7 p.m. All voters will decide on 14 proposed amendments to the Texas Constitution. Local issues and races include a sales tax in Kingsland, a bond in Meadowlakes, a mayor in Horseshoe Bay, and council seats in Horseshoe Bay and Meadowlakes.

Here’s what you’re voting on and where:


Horseshoe Bay residents will elect a new mayor on Tuesday. Newcomer Donald Beeman is facing off against Mayor Pro-tem Elsie Thurman in a race that has grown heated in recent months. The trouble began with anonymous mailers to residents disparaging Beeman and distributed flyers from a mysterious political action committee that further discredited him. Beeman and others on the Horseshoe Bay Property Owners’ Association Board of Directors were banned from using Horseshoe Bay Resort amenities, and resort owner Jordan Jaffe filed a civil suit against Beeman and the POA.

Also on the ballot are three candidates running for two seats on the Horseshoe Bay City Council: incumbents Frank Hosea and Jeff Jones and challenger Larry Morgan. The top two vote-getters will be seated. 


Meadowlakes residents will decide on Proposition A, a $7.5 million bond to renovate the city’s golf course and related facilities as well as improve city utilities.


Burnet County residents within Emergency Services District No. 3 will vote on a 2-percent sales tax to fund fire control in the area. The district encompasses the unincorporated area of the county stretching from eastern Kingsland to Wirtz Dam Road. The sales tax would go toward providing emergency services to residents and possibly offsetting the current property tax levy.


All Texans can weigh in on 14 constitutional propositions. A full list and brief summaries can be found here


Before heading to your polling site, check if you are registered to vote on the Texas Secretary of State’s My Voter Portal.

Bring any of the following forms of ID to vote on Tuesday:

  • Texas driver’s license issued by the Texas Department of Public Safety 
  • Texas election identification certificate issued by the DPS
  • Texas personal identification card issued by the DPS
  • Texas handgun license issued by the DPS
  • U.S. military ID card containing your photo
  • U.S. citizenship certificate containing your photo
  • U.S. passport (book or card)

If you do not possess any of the above documents, visit to learn about how to use other forms of ID in conjunction with a reasonable impediment declaration


Contact the Burnet County Elections Office at 512-715-5288 or for more information. County residents can vote at any of the following locations:

  • Burnet County AgriLife building, 607 N. Vandeveer St. in Burnet
  • Bertram Library, 170 N. Gabriel St. 
  • Briggs Community Center, 215 Loop 308
  • Granite Shoals Community Center, 1208 N. Phillips Ranch Road
  • Texas Tech University at Highland Lakes, 806 Steve Hawkins Parkway in Marble Falls


Contact the Llano County Elections Office at 325-247-5425 for more information. County residents must vote at the designated polling location for their corresponding precinct:

  • Precinct 101 — Llano County AgriLife building, 1447 Texas 71 in Llano
  • Precinct 102/City of Horseshoe Bay — Blue Lake Community Center, 214 W. Bluebonnet Road
  • Precinct 108 — Sunrise Beach Community Building, 124 Sunrise Drive
  • Precinct 109/City of Horseshoe Bay — Horseshoe Bay Council Chambers, 1 Community Drive
  • Precinct 203 — East Llano County Annex, 8347 RR 1431 in Buchanan Dam
  • Precinct 204 — Lakeshore Library, 7346 RR 261 in Buchanan Dam
  • Precinct 205 — First Baptist Church of Tow, 16529 RR 2241
  • Precinct 307 — Kingsland Library, 125 W. Polk St.
  • Precinct 410 — Llano Library, 102 E. Haynie St. in Llano