Enjoy all your local news and sports for less than 6¢ per day.

Subscribe Now

BURNET — The two contested Republican Primary races for Burnet County offices are headed to May 22 runoff.

In the Precinct 2 county commissioner race, Tom Stephens and Damon Beierle will face each other in the runoff for the GOP nomination after they finished as the top two vote-getters in the March 6 primary. Stephens mustered the most votes with 703 followed by Beierle with 616. Ryan Rowney came in third with 236 votes.

Though Stephens had the most votes, he didn’t get a clear majority at just more than 45 percent, so he and Beierle go to the runoff for the GOP nomination. The winner will likely have a clear path to the commissioners court since there is no Democratic challenger.

In the race for the GOP nomination for Precinct 3 justice of the peace, Jane Marie Hurst and Jeff Sellers continue on to the May 22 runoff as the top two vote-getters. Hurst managed 401 votes (39.74 percent) with Sellers bringing in 365 (36.17 percent).

Carey Headrick pulled in 243 votes.

All the other GOP races in Burnet County were unopposed:

  • County Judge — Jame Oakley
  • County Court At Law Judge — Linda Bayless
  • District Clerk — Casie Walker
  • County Clerk — Janet Parker
  • County Treasurer — Karrie Crownover
  • Precinct 4 Commissioner — Joe Don Dockery
  • Precinct 1 Justice of the Peace — Roxanne Nelson
  • Precinct 2 Justice of the Peace — Lisa Whitehead
  • Precinct 4 Justice of the Peace — Debbie Bindseil
  • Precinct 4 Constable (unexpired term) — Millicent “Missy” Bindseil
  • County Chair — Donna Wilcox

With no Democratic challengers in the November general election, the GOP nominees will likely be sworn in Jan. 1, 2019. The only Democrat on the Burnet County ballot was Ronald LeVick Sr., who will be the Democratic county chairman.

These are unofficial results until canvassed.