MARBLE FALLS — While the kids’ first day of class is still a few weeks away, parents can enjoy a little back-to-school savings thanks to the Texas sales tax holiday Aug. 8-10.
Since its inception by the Texas Legislature, the sales tax-free weekend has given shoppers an extra dose of savings. The sales-tax holiday exempts certain items, traditionally associated with back to school, from state and local sales tax. The exemption applies to items such as clothing and footwear, backpacks and school supplies.
But under each one, the state does include some “fine print.” So not everything gets the sales-tax exemption. For instance, “backpacks” only applies to specific styles used for elementary and secondary students, not those “reasonably defined as luggage, briefcases, athletic/duffle/gym bags, computer bags, purses or framed backpacks.”
The sales-tax exemption is limited to items sold for less than $100 during the three-day event. And it doesn’t matter how many items are sold at one time. If each is less than $100, they all qualify for the exemption if they fall under one of the three exemption categories. For instance, if a person purchases a pair of shoes for $85, a shirt for $20 and a pair of pants for $65, each item earns a sales-tax exemption even though the entire bill exceeds $100.
However, if somebody purchases a shirt for $105, the exemption doesn’t apply at all. The state doesn’t authorize an exemption for the first $99.99 on the time and then apply the sales tax to the remaining $5.01. The purchaser would be required to pay sales tax on the entire $105.
Go to www.window.state.tx.us to find out more through the Texas Comptroller of Public Accounts website.