Summer sports camps get youth in competitive shape

JENNIFER FIERRO • PICAYUNE STAFF

MARBLE FALLS — Winning championships happens in the offseason. That’s the belief among coaches and athletes across the Highland Lakes.

So to help athletes get better at sport-specific skills, area head coaches are offering summer sports camps and conditioning programs.

Marble Falls Independent School District athletic director Matt Green said summer conditioning workouts and camps serve many purposes.

“I know our kids are understanding the commitment level it will take for us to be successful,” he said. “You will never be punished if you’re not working out. (But) you will probably lose what you’ve gained during the school year.”

Camps and summer conditioning workouts are offered at high school facilities. Camps offered at Burnet High School cost $45 unless otherwise noted. Go to www.burnet.txed.net for a brochure or more information.

BASEBALL

• Llano – June 1-4 from 9:30 a.m.-noon for incoming sixth-ninth grades and 1-3 p.m. for incoming third-fifth grades. Cost is $50 a child or $80 for brothers. Email head coach Stephen Campbell at scampbell@llanoisd.org for more information.

• Marble Falls – June 8-11 from 9 a.m.-noon for ages 6-14. Cost is $75. Email head coach Tim Hulon at thulon@mfisd.txed.net for more information.

• Burnet – June 15-17 from 8-9:30 a.m. for incoming second-fifth grades and 10 a.m.-1 p.m. for incoming sixth-eighth grades.

BASKETBALL

• Burnet girls camp – June 1-3 from 8-11 a.m. for incoming kindergarten-fifth grades and noon-3 p.m. for incoming sixth-ninth grades.

• Burnet boys camp – June 8-11 from 8:30-11:30 a.m. for incoming kindergarten-fifth grades and 1-3 p.m. for incoming sixth-ninth grades.

• Marble Falls boys camp – June 15-18 from 9 a.m.-noon for incoming fourth-sixth grades and 1:30-4:30 p.m. for incoming seventh-ninth grades. Cost is $75. Email head coach Paul Gammage at paulford11@live.com for more information.

• Jerry English’s Final Four Camp for girls – June 8-11 and July 13-16 from 9 a.m.-noon for high school players ($80) and from 1-3 p.m. for middle school athletes ($60). Email English at coache94@verizon.net for more information.

CHEERLEADING

• Burnet mini-camp – July 20-22 for incoming kindergarten-sixth grades. Cost is $40. Contact Holly Raiford at hraiford@burnet.txed.net or (512) 756-6193 ext. 2473 for more information.

CROSS COUNTRY

• Marble Falls – June 1-4 from 7-8:15 a.m. for incoming seventh-12th-grades. Cost is $50 The camp is designed as an introduction to the high school workouts each runner will be expected to do before practices officially begin in July. It also allows middle school athletes to experience a high school practice. Email head coach Anthony Torns at atorns@mfisd.txed.net for more information.

FOOTBALL

• Burnet – June 1-3 from 8-9:30 a.m. for incoming second-fifth grades and 10-11:30 a.m. for incoming sixth-eighth grades.

• Marble Falls – June 1-4 from 8-10:30 a.m. for incoming first-fifth grades and 11:30 a.m.-2 p.m. for  incoming sixth-seventh grades; and July 13-16 from 5-8 p.m. for incoming eighth-ninth grades. Cost is $85. Email head coach Matt Green at mgreen@mfisd.txed.net for more information.

• Russell Roberts QB and Receiver Camp – June 8-11 from 9 a.m.-noon at Faith Academy field for incoming fifth-ninth grades. Cost is $50. Email Roberts at rroberts@famf.org for more information.

• Llano – July 27-29 from 8-9:30 a.m. for incoming fourth-sixth grades and 10 a.m.-noon for incoming seventh-ninth grades. Cost is $30 a child or $45 for brothers. Email head coach Craig Slaughter at cslaughter@llanoisd.org for more information.

SOCCER

• Marble Falls (boys and girls) – June 8-11 from 8-9:30 a.m. for incoming third-sixth grades and 10 a.m.-noon for incoming seventh-ninth grades. Cost is $50. Email head coach Rick Hoover at rhoover@mfisd.txed.net for more information.

SOFTBALL

• Marble Falls – June 1-3 from 9-11:30 a.m. for incoming second-sixth grades ($50) and June 15-18 from 9 a.m.-noon for incoming seventh-ninth grades ($75). Email head coach Chelsea Heller at cheller@mfisd.txed.net for more information.

• Llano – June 1-3 from 9-11 a.m. for incoming fourth-ninth grades. Cost is $30. Email head coach Bobby Williams at bwilliams@llanoisd.org for more information.

• Burnet – June 15-17 from 8-10 a.m. for incoming second-fifth grades and 10:15 a.m.-12:15 p.m. for incoming sixth-ninth grades .

SUMMER CONDITIONING

• Burnet – June 8-30 and July 6-23 from 7:30-9 a.m. for incoming ninth- through 12th-grade boys; 9:30-11 a.m. for incoming seventh-eighth grades and high school girls; and 11 a.m.-noon for incoming sixth-graders. Cost is $55 for high school and seventh- and eighth-grade athletes and $40 for sixth-graders. The program is conducted by Next Level Athletic Training and Burnet High School graduate Sonny Wilson.

• Marble Falls – June 8-July 30 for incoming seventh-12th-grades. High school athletes at 8-10 a.m. and middle school players at 10 a.m.-noon. Cost is $175. Email athletic director Matt Green at mgreen@mfisd.txed.net for more.

TENNIS

• Mustang Camp – June 9-11 from 9-11 a.m. for incoming fifth-sixth grades. Cost is $40. Email head coach Jeff Savage at jsavage@mfisd.txed.net for more information.

VOLLEYBALL

• Burnet camp – July 20-22 from 9-11 a.m. for incoming fifth-sixth grades and 9 a.m.-noon for incoming seventh-ninth grades.

• Lady Mustang camp – July 22-23 from 8:30-11:30 a.m. for incoming sixth-ninth grades and 1-4 p.m. for incoming 10th-12th grades. Cost is $40. Call head coach Casey Schubert at (903) 701-5331 for more information.

jfierro@thepicayune.com

Leave a Reply

 

GOT NEWS?

830-693-7152

Call the Tip Line.


marketplace

Sign Up For Our Newsletter






KBEY 103.9 Radio Picayune

This week in The Picayune